Academy Units

The scientific and artistic work of the Academy is organized in its classes and scientific and artistic units.

The Historical Sciences Division

Head of: Željko Tomičić, F.C.A.
Director:  Damir Karbić, Ph.D.
Strossmayerov trg 2, 10000 Zagreb
Phone +385 01 4895 196

Željko Tomičić, F.C.A. was appointed head of the Department for a term of four years, starting on  November 5, 2020.
Damir Karbić, Ph.D. was reappointed head of the Department of Historical Sciences for a period of four years, starting on March 16, 2019.

The Historical Sciences Division was founded in 1948 as a part of the Archives, the Oriental Collection, the Laboratory for the Restoration of Manuscripts and Archival Documents and the Filigree Technology Cabinet. Its main aim is to study the Croatian history, publish historical sources, and elaborate and develop historical methodology with a special emphasis on auxiliary historical sciences. The division’s activities focus on three principal areas of responsibility: the systematic publishing of historical documents and sources, the production of manuals and aids for historical research, and work on historical studies, syntheses, and monographs. During its fifty-eight years of existence, the Historical Sciences Division has published major Croatian works from the past that are of permanent value. The division’s library, with its holdings of about 47,000 valuable history books and current periodicals, is also the venue of scientific meetings and symposia on history. Through its publishing activity and offering of expert advice, the division has established numerous contacts with collaborators from Croatia and abroad, with whom it whole-heartedly maintains professional co-operation.

Zgrada u kojoj se nalaze Arhiv i Zavod za povijesne i društvene znanosti

Seat of the Historical Sciences Division


Science research units

Museums - Galleries - Collections

Other units