Scientific Councils HAZU

The task of the Academy Councils is to encourage, organize, coordinate and assist scientific and professional research in their scientific and artistic fields. For this purpose, the councils bring together scientific and professional institutions and prominent scientists and experts in the field of their activities.

Scientific Council for Traffic

Organisation of the Scientific Council for Traffic
(Elected at the regular session of the Scientific Council for Traffic held on 14 October 2014)

Deputy Chairs:

  • Marin Hraste, Fellow of the Croatian Academy
  • Prof. DSc Sanja Steiner

Secretary: DSc. Vladimir Marić
Admin. Secretary / Contact person: Nikola Puljiz ( 2305-807, 099/3106-529, 095/9091-306,

The Scientific Council for Traffic deals with topics concerning all branches of traffic in its scope of work and research domain. It studies at interdisciplinary level the correlation among the traffic, economic, environmental and social development. Within its framework, the Council gathers scientists in sections, which cover the following relevant areas: traffic safety; traffic technique and technology; traffic ecology; traffic medicine; smart transport systems and logistics; traffic economics and traffic law; as well as international co-operation with scientific and professional traffic institutions in Europe.

The Scientific Council for Traffic operates in ten sections:

  1. Section for Road and City Traffic
  2. Section for Railway and Inter-Modal Traffic
  3. Air Traffic Section
  4.  Section for Informational and Communicational Traffic
  5. Section for Traffic in Internal Waterways
  6. International Co-Operation Section
  7. Section for Smart Transport Systems and Logistics
  8. Traffic Ecology Section
  9. Traffic Medicine and Traffic Safety Section
  10. Traffic Economics and Traffic Law Section

The Scientific Council for Traffic numbers more than one hundred members from the fields of traffic and related scientific disciplines, who are elected for a four-year mandate with the possibility of re-election.