Departments HAZU

Departments are the bearers of the Academy’s tasks. The working composition of the departments consists of regular members, and the wider composition also includes correspondent members and associate members.

IV. Department of Medical Sciences

Secretary: Vida Demarin, F.C.A.
Deputy secretary: Josip Madić, F.C.A.

Trg Nikole Šubića Zrinskog 11, 10000 Zagreb
Phone: +385 01 4895 171
Central: +385 01 4895 111

The Department of Medical Sciences is active through the research of its members, both within the Department and within its committees. The department’s very name describes best the wide range and contents of its activities. Its numerous committees specialize in the following areas: professional health hazards, oncogenic and growth factors, tumors, occupational medicine and medical ecology, animal and comparative pathology, allergology and clinical immunology, biological substances, drugs, cariovascular diseases, subcellular pathology, atherosclerosis, parodontal diseases, and biomedical ethics. Within the department, the Cabinet for the Research and Standardization of Immunological Substances focuses on the eradication of certain contagious diseases and on the implementation of immunological tumor therapy by means of interferon and cytokinines.

The Department and its committees organize scientific conferences and lectures, and are also active in publishing: publishes the journal RAD HAZU Medicinske znanosti, and since 2007 it has been published regularly in English. The Department annually or biennially issues the  Rasprave i građa za povijest znanosti. Most scientific conferences are accompanied by proceedings, and the most famous, for 23 years in a row, is the book Bolesti dojke. Members of the Department are both authors and co-authors of many textbooks and monographs printed within their home institutions.
The journal RAD HAZU Medicinske znanosti is available online:

Members of the Medical Sciences Department also work within the Croatian Academy of Medical Sciences and the Croatian Medical Association (CMA), specialist societies within the CMA and within numerous international associations and societies. Members of the Department are holders of scientific projects, the work of which takes place partly through the Department.

The members of the Deparment were prominent doctors and veterinarians: Andrija Štampar, Sergije Saltykov, Drago Perović, Franjo Kogoj, Ante Šercer, Nikša Alegretti, Ivo Babić, Ivo Čupar, Mladen Sekso, Ljubomir Čečuk, Radovan Ivančić, Nenad Grčević, Jelena Krmpotić-Nemanić, Ivo Padovan, Sergije Forenbacher, Šime Spaventi, Zdenko Škrabalo, Eugen Topolnik, Slavko Cvetnić, Teodor Wikerhauser, Vladimir Goldner, Marko Saric and Ivan Prpić.

Corresponding members and associate members are actively involved in the work of the Department.