Departments HAZU

Departments are the bearers of the Academy’s tasks. The working composition of the departments consists of regular members, and the wider composition also includes correspondent members and associate members.

VIII. Department of Music and Musicology

Secretary: Stanislav Tuksar, F.C.A.
Deputy secretary: Zoran Juranić, F.C.A.

Trg Nikole Šubića Zrinskog 11, 10000 Zagreb
Phone: +385 01 4895 171
Central: +385 01 4895 111

The Department of Music and Musicology, as a consequence of its dual structure, focuses on two principal areas of activity:

  1. One is the promotion and publishing of musical works by Croatian composers, especially those of earlier periods (Renaissance, Baroque, eighteenth and nineteenth century), in addition to those of contemporary Croatian composers (department members).
  2. It also indulges in the scientific study, analysis, and evaluation of Croatian musical heritage since its beginnings. Research results are published in a series of monographic, synthetic, and other works.

To complement these activities, the team at the Division for the History of Croatian Music consults the archival and other collections and puts out various publications (catalogues, documents, etd.) on the topic.

Among the deceased members of the department several have won international recognition:Dragan Plamenac, musicologist, long-time university professor in the United States, as well asStjepan ŠulekBoris Papandopulo, and Jakov Gotovac, composers, whose works, which are marked by superb skill and genuine musical talent, are often performed in Croatia and abroad.

Pavlinska pjesmarica
Paulist hymnal (1644),
reprinted by the Croatian Academy in 1993