Departments HAZU

Departments are the bearers of the Academy’s tasks. The working composition of the departments consists of regular members, and the wider composition also includes correspondent members and associate members.

II. Department of Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Sciences

Secretary: Marko Tadić , F.C.A.
Deputy secretary: Ivo Piantanida, F.C.A.

Zrinski trg 11, 10000 Zagreb
Phone: +385 01 4895 172
Central: +385 01 4895 111

In the domain of mathematics the research refers to the foundations of mathematics, to elementary and high-dimensional geometry and to topology, especially dimension theory, shape theory and homology theory. One develops harmonic analysis on classical groups and general linear groups and its relation to arithmetic. One develops various generalizations of classical inequalities with applications to mathematical analysis and geometry. One develops mathematical techniques used in statical, kinetmaical and dynamical problems of architectural contructions. One considers philosophical aspects of natural sciences and mathematics, relations between mathematics and the arts and the history of mathematical and other exact sciences with an emphasis on the contribution of Croatian scientists to world’s science.

In the field of physics, the department has projects that do research in atomic and nuclear physics, the physics of elementary particles, the physics of solid states, and classical physics, as well as the interdisciplinary links between physics and other sciences. The department’s physics research also focuses on the mechanisms of high-temperature supraconductivity, the physical characteristics of metal alloys, covariant characteristics of relativist and quark models, the disintegration of hyperons within the atomic nucleus, biphoton disintegration of atoms and agitated states of atomic nuclei, physical processes in systems with a small number of nucleons, chaotic and regular behavior in nonlinear classical systems, the application of robotics, biological oscillators, and geographical forms. Finally, the philosophical aspects of the natural sciences are also explored.

Chemical research in the department includes the structural studies of inorganic and bioinorganic compounds by methods of the x-ray structural analysis and spectroscopy, with special emphasis on the relationship between structure and biological activity. The department’s chemists also explore the reaction mechanisms of organic reactions and mechanisms of inorganic and metalo-organic systems, especially those involving transition metals of biological significance; they use primary and secondary kinetic isotope effects, in solving reaction mechanisms. They also explore mathematical and computational models for the study of the quantitative relationship between structure and properties of molecules, and they determine the electronic structures of heterocyclic and biologically active molecules from their photoelectronic spectra.

The department is also active through the work of its special units: the Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science (consisting of the Division for the History of Natural and Matematical Sciences, the Division for the Philosophy of Science), and the Institute for Corrosion Research and Desalinization in Dubrovnik

The department’s honorary members in the past who gave important contributions, include the deceased Nobel Laureates Lavoslav Ružička, Vladimir Prelog, and Linus Pauling. Its corresponding members comprise the Nobel laureates Robert Burns Woodward, Jean-Marie Lehn, Robert Huber, Manfred Eigen, and Carlo Rubbia.