Departments HAZU

Departments are the bearers of the Academy’s tasks. The working composition of the departments consists of regular members, and the wider composition also includes correspondent members and associate members.

IX. Department of Technical Sciences

Secretary: Ignac Lovrek, F.C.A.
Deputy secretary: Vlasta Piližota, F.C.A.

Trg Nikole Šubića Zrinskog 11, 10000 Zagreb
Phone: +385 01 4895 170
Central: +385 01 4895 111

Members of the Department of Technical Sciences carry out scientific research within the framework of the Academy’s scientific councils, institutes and committees, and faculties at the universities of Osijek, Rijeka, Split and Zagreb. The scientific research activities include the following areas: bio- and food technology; naval architecture, maritime technologies and maritime affaires; chemical engineering; materials, material processing and production engineering; development planning of crude oil and gas economy, energy and environmental protection; applied and experimental mechanics; traffic and transport development, civil engineering; computer science, electrical engineering, information and communication technology, network science; artificial intelligence, autonomous systems, robotics, image processing. General topics of science and education related to technology, innovation and economic development, in particular growing industry and emerging technologies, are explored as well.

Scientific councils associated with the Department, the task of which is to encourage, organize, co-ordinate and assist research, bring together several hundred eminent scientists and experts in the fields of technical and biotechnical sciences. The Department members take leading roles in the work of the following scientific councils: Scientific Council for Crude Oil, Gas Economy and Power Supply; Scientific Council for Maritime Affairs; Scientific Council for Traffic; and Scientific Council for Technological Development. These scientific councils contribute significantly to the activities and recognition of the Department of Technical Sciences.

Since 1997, when the Department was founded as a separate Academy unit, prominent Croatian scientists have been members of the Department – deceased fellows of the Croatian Academy Hrvoje Babić, Vojislav Bego, Tomo Bosanac, Josip Božičević, Petar Krešimir Čolić, Dragutin Fleš, Marin Hraste, Božidar Liščić, Vladimir Matković, Božo Udovičić and Mirko Zelić. The Academy’s most distinguished former members, who have contributed significantly to technical sciences, are – among others – Nikola Tesla and Hrvoje Požar.